Independent Study

Independent Study (off campus / satellite):

Independent Study (off campus / satellite) is located in four areas throughout the district. The locations include; Central – Chula Vista, North – National City, South – San Ysidro and West – Southwest High School Campus. Independent Study is voluntary and adequate progress needs to be made in order to remain in the program. Students must be able to do the work at home (20-30 hours of homework a week) and maintain their once per week meetings with a teacher at the Independent Study, off campus location. Most students work on one course/class at a time, and they’re required to complete a course/class in three weeks. Attendance is based on the amount of work produced; therefore, students must complete a minimum amount of work to remain in Independent Study. Students must have self-initiative, good work habits, and good reading skills to succeed. Students will be returned to the home school or the referring school if the required progress is not met. Independent Study students must pass all competencies as any other student. Students earning a high school diploma while on Independent Study will retain all rights at the resident school and a regular high school diploma issued by the resident school. Students may apply to Independent Study through a team decision process initiated on the main campus involving administration, counseling, parent(s) and the student.

Central – Chula Vista Independent Study Off Campus / Satellite
467 ½ Moss Street
Chula Vista, California, 91911

Teacher:  Jesus Arias (619) 796-7013
Jesus.Arias@sweetwaterschools.org

Teacher:  Daniel Ballez (619) 796-7014
Daniel.Ballez@sweetwaterschools.org

Teacher:  Sandra Hodge (619) 796-7033
Sandra.Hodge@sweetwaterschools.org

Teacher:  Sandra Juvenal (619) 796-7004
Sandra.Juvenal@sweetwaterschools.org

Teacher:  Diane Parra (619) 796-7337
Diane.Parra@sweetwaterschools.org

Teacher: Dalisay Quitilen (619) 796-7016
Dalisay.Quitilen@sweetwaterschools.org


North – National City Independent Study Off Campus / Satellite
2234 D Avenue
National City, California, 91950

Teacher:  Antonia Leivas (619) 474-5391
Antonia.Leivas@sweetwaterschools.org

Teacher:  Derek DePace (619) 474-6320
Derek.Depace@sweetwaterschools.org

Teacher:  Raul Kasem (619) 474-3216
Raul.Kasem@sweetwaterschools.org

 

South – San Ysidro Independent Study Off Campus / Satellite
1685 Precision Park Lane, Suite B
San Ysidro, California, 92173

Teacher:  Johnathan Frye (619) 662-4060
Johnathan.Frye@sweetwaterschools.org

Teacher:  Sam Lucero (619) 934-0367
Sam.Lucero@sweetwaterschools.org

Teacher:  Melinda Stenberg (619) 662-4038
Melinda.Stenberg@sweetwaterschools.org